Together for a just and peaceful society

Scroll Down

The Fellowship of Christian Councils and Churches in the Great Lakes and Horn of Africa

Is a regional ecumenical organization which provides a platform for sharing perspectives on issues of common concern, particularly regarding peace building and conflict transformation in the Great Lakes and Horn of Africa region.

Officially launched in March 1999, and registered in Kenya in February 2001, FECCLAHA fosters strong ecumenical cooperation and encourages its members to take ownership and responsibility for problems in the region and to proactively seek solutions to these challenges.

Our Mission

Our mission at FECCLAHA is to promote ecumenical solidarity for justice, peace, healing, conflict transformation and reconciliation in the Great Lakes and Horn of Africa through advocacy, networking and partnership, capacity building, research and documentation within the framework of holistic Christian Ministry

Our Vision

"Together for a just and peaceful society"

Fundamental to our vision is the assumption that solutions to the issues of conflict must essentially come from within the region, with inhabitants taking ownership and responsibility for the problems and proactively seeking solutions.

Our Core Values

  • Human Dignity: We recognize that all people are created in the image of God and should enjoy abundant life. (Gen.1:26)
  • Compassion: We acknowledge and seek to bring healing and contribute towards building healthy communities through mediation, forgiveness, and reconciliation. (Micah 6:8)
  • Justice: We advocate for equity in accessing services and national resources guided by truth, integrity, and transparency. (Matthew 5:5-8)
  • Peace: We work towards establishment of environments that are secure, where people live in harmony, accept, and respect one another irrespective of their race, ethnicity, religion, gender, and physical status. (Isaiah 1:16-18)
  • Integrity: We are aware of the dilemma that ensures when we make efforts to simultaneously satisfy the requirements of justice in search for peace. We believe in working with people from a perspective of honesty as well as upholding their dignity. (Proverbs 11:3)

Our Scope

FECCLAHA draws its membership from Churches and national councils of churches of nine countries in the Great Lakes and Horn of Africa region.
The countries are:

  • Burundi
  • Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Kenya
  • Rwanda
  • Sudan
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda